Estimate your IM 140.6 time after an IM 70.3

Many tools (calculators / estimators) based on past results give us coefficients to estimate our paces and estimated times on marathon or half marathon according to our time on a 5k or a previous10km. These tools have decades of results tables and analysis to give a good coefficent and they are therefore fairly accurate (when the race is going well for the athlete).

 

In my article ” Calculate your running paces“, the calculator gives you your paces for your trainings but it also gives you your estimates time on a 5km, 10km, 21km, 42km according to a performance already achieved. It is of course important to increment a true value (official time of the race, not the time you think you can do or the one that your watch displays without the pauses made during the race).

 

Now that triathlon is getting older, results tables are emerging and we are beginning to have several years of data on athletes and their performances on IM 70.3 and IM 140.6. Ironman races even organize an IM 70.3 and an IM 140.6 at the same place, where the course is simply doubled (2 swim loops, 2 bike loops and 2 running loops to make from an IM 70.3 an IM 140.6 ). The advantage is that the comparison is fairly reliable with a course that does not vary from one race to another (road surface, distance, elevation) the only variable here is the weather; Wind, rain, heat; (Same variable with all estimators / calculators).

Two methods are used to estimate your time IM140.6 from your IM 70.3 time.

A / The simplest, is the multiplier coefficient: min = 2.101 / standard = 2.167 / max = 2.234

 

Minimum time on IM 140.6 = Time IM 70.3 x 2.101
Most likely time on IM 140.6 = Time IM 70.3 x 2.167
Maximum time on IM 140.6 = Time IM 70.3 x 2.234

 

B / Estimating each sport individually (swim / bike / run), This method does not include transitions.

Allure IM 70.3 – 4 ” / 100m
Allure bike IM 70.3 – 2.52km / h
Running allure IM 70.3 + 31’’.7′ / km

To automatically calculate here is an Excel worksheet:

 

Download the file

Leave a Reply

Estimer son chrono IM 140.6 après un IM 70.3

Beaucoup d’outils (calculateurs/estimateurs) basés sur des tables de résultats nous donnent des coefficients à appliquer pour estimer nos temps de passage, nos allures, nos temps estimés sur marathon ou demi marathon en fonction de notre temps sur un 5k ou 10km. Ces outils ont comme base de calcul des décennies de tables de résultats et ils sont donc assez précises (lorsque la course se passe bien pour l’athlète).

Dans mon article « Calculer ses rythmes », le calculateur vous donne vos allures pour vos entrainements mais il vous donne également vos estimations de chrono sur un 5km, 10km, 21km, 42km en fonction d’une performance déjà réalisée. Il va de soit qu’il est important d’incrémenter une valeur vraie (temps officiel de la course, pas le temps que vous pensez ou celui qu’affiche votre chrono sans les pauses effectuées pendant la course).

Maintenant que le triathlon prend de l’âge, des tables de résultats se dessinent et on commence à avoir plusieurs années de données sur des athlètes et leur performance sur IM 70.3 et IM 140.6. Des courses Ironman organisent même sur le même lieu un IM 70.3 et un IM 140.6 où le parcours est tout simplement doublé (2 boucles à la nage, 2 boucles vélo et 2 boucles de course a pied pour faire d’un IM 70.3 un IM 140.6). L’avantage est que la comparaison est assez fiable avec un parcours qui ne varie pas d’une course à l’autre (revêtement, distance, dénivelé) la seule variable ici est la météo ; vent, pluie, chaleur ; (même variable avec tous les estimateurs/calculateurs).

Deux méthodes sont utilisées pour estimer votre chrono IM140.6 à partir de votre temps 70.3.

A/ La plus simple le coefficient multiplicateur : min=2.101/standard=2.167/max=2.234

  • Temps minimal IM 140.6 = Temps IM 70.3 x 2.101
  • Temps le plus probable IM 140.6 = Temps IM 70.3 x 2.167
  • Temps maximal IM 140.6 = Temps IM 70.3 x 2.234.

B/ L’estimation de chaque sport individuellement (nage/vélo/course), Cette méthode ne prend pas en compte les transitions.

  • Allure de nage IM 70.3 – 4’’/100m
  • Allure vélo IM 70.3 – 2,52km/h
  • Allure course à pied IM 70.3 + 31’7’’/km

Pour effectuer le calcul automatiquement un feuille Excel à renseigner :

Télécharger le calculateur

Laisser un commentaire